The Daylight Award 2022

Registration date:


Submission date:




The Daylight Award 2022 is open for nominationsNominations for The Daylight Award 2022, the dual prize for research
and architecture are open. This is a unique opportunity for researchers and architects to
acknowledge fellow professionals for their dedicated focus on daylight. Nominations will stay open
until 30 September 2021 and prior registration is not required.One name, two prizes The dual prize is organized under the common name The Daylight Award with the purpose of creating
a closer correlation between research and architecture, emphasizing the dependency of theory and
practice and connecting the two worlds that should create synergies and strive for better living
conditions. The Daylight Award strives to trigger fresh perspectives and provoke new ways of thinking
among researchers and practitioners. The Daylight Award for Research will be given to an individual or a group of researchers whose work
puts special emphasis on the effects of daylight on human health, well-being and performance.
The jury will look for focus on daylight as a key element in the research work of the nominees. The
nominations are open to all areas of research such as natural science, human science or social science. The Daylight Award for Architecture is awarded to individuals or a group of architects or other
professionals whose projects and works showcase unique use of – and dedication to daylight. Special
emphasis will be put on series of works that consider the overall quality of human life, its value to the
society and impact on the environment. The Daylight Award will actively solicit nominations from professional organizations, architects,
researchers and other professionals who have an expertise and interest in the field of daylight
research and daylight in architecture. Additionally, the Award accepts individual nominations from
professionals. The nominations will end by 30 September 2021. Mail address for submitting nominations: nomination@thedaylightaward.comThe Jury will undertake deliberations during the following months, and the 2022 laureates will be
announced on 16 May 2022. We proudly present the 2022 jury The jury for the 2022 award represents a complementary and comprehensive knowledge of the
international scientific and architectural world. Anne Lacaton, Principal of Lacaton & Vassal Architectes, Paris, laureate of The Daylight Award in 2011,
winner of the EU Mies Award 2019 and The 2021 Pritzker Prize Laureate, associate Professor of
Architecture & Design at ETH Zurich. Dorte Mandrup, founder of Dorte Mandrup A/S, Copenhagen, chair of the Mies van der Rohe Award
2019, Adjunct Professor at The Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts and holds frequent visiting
professorships abroad. Marilyne Andersen, Professor of Sustainable Construction Technologies and Dean of the School of
Architecture, Civil and Environmental Engineering at École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, and
laureate of The Daylight Award in 2016 Gerd Folkers, Professor for Pharmaceutical Chemistry since at the ETH Zurich. He previously served at
the Swiss National Science Foundation and has been director of the Collegium Helveticum since 2012.
He has been a member of the Swiss Science Council and served as its President until 2019. Russell Foster, Director of the Nuffield Laboratory of Ophthalmology and Head of the Sleep and
Circadian Neuroscience Institute at the University of Oxford. In 2020, Russell Foster was awarded with
The Daylight Award for Research. Juhani Pallasmaa, Finnish architect, writer, teacher and practicing architect who has lectured
extensively across the world for more than 40 years. From 2009-2014, he served on the jury for the
Pritzker Architecture Prize. Koen Steemers, Professor of Sustainable Design, The Martin Centre for Architectural and Urban
Studies, Department of Architecture, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom with an extensive
architectural research assessment experience Previous The Daylight Award Laureates The three foundations behind the award have a long history when it comes to awarding best practice
within daylight. Since 1980, VILLUM FONDEN, VELUX FONDEN and Velux Stiftung have rewarded the
following professionals with daylight awards; Jørn Utzon (DK) (1980), Henning Larsen (DK) (1987), Bob
Gysin (CH) (2007), Richard Perez (USA) (2008), Peter Zumthor (CH) (2010), James Carpenter (USA)
(2010), Lacaton & Vassal (F) (2011), Gigon & Guyer (CH) (2012) and SANAA (JP) (2014),Steven Holl
(USA) (2016), Marilyne Andersen (CH) (2016), Hiroshi Sambuichi (JP) (2018), Greg Ward (USA) (2018),
Juha Leiviskä (FI) (2020), Russell Foster (UK) (2020) and Henry Plummer (US) (2020). About The Daylight Award The Daylight Award honors and supports daylight research and daylight in architecture, for the
benefit of human health, well-being and the environment. The award places specific emphasis on the
interrelation between theory and practice.
The Daylight Award was established by the philanthropic foundations VILLUM FONDEN, VELUX
FONDEN and VELUX STIFTUNG, and is conferred biennially in two categories; The Daylight Award for
Research and The Daylight Award for Architecture. The award is given as personal prizes, and each to
the sum of €100,000.
For more details, please visit